Photo by Christopher Elston Photography.

ISE Banquet 2012
Thursday, April 19, 2012

Dear Friends,

I hope this letter finds you well. The faculty, staff and students of the ISE Department would like to welcome you back to our annual ISE Banquet on Thursday, April 19, 2012. We will also be honoring Arthur F. Veinott Jr. ’56 and Timothy J. Wilmott ’80, ’81G.

If you have any questions about this or other upcoming events, please contact Amanda Fabrizio at amanda-dot-fabrizio-at-lehigh-dot-edu.

If you have any questions or would like a follow up on the progression of the department, please do not hesitate to get in contact with me at 610-758-4050 or at terlaky-at-lehigh-dot-edu.

We're looking forward to seeing you on April 19.

Best Wishes,

Dr. Tamás Terlaky
Chair of the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering and
George N. and Soteria Kledaras ’87 Endowed Chair Professor

Go to Top

Events Schedule
ISE Banquet 2012
Thursday, April 19th, 2012

  • Spencer C. Schantz Lecture 3:30 p.m. :
    Arthur F. Veinott Jr. ’56
    Professor Emeritus of Operations Research
    Stanford University
  • Cocktail Reception 5:00 p.m. :
    Iacocca Hall - Siegel Gallery
  • Banquet Dinner 6:00 p.m. :
    Iacocca Hall - Wood Dining Room

Go to Top

Registration - Alumni & Friends

Alumni and Friends of ISE that would like to attend for the ISE Banquet must register before Sunday, April 15, 2012.

To register, please click here.

$40 for the full day experience.

If you would like to send a check, make it payable to "Lehigh University" and send it to:

Lehigh University
Industrial & Systems Engineering
Attn: Amanda Fabrizio
200 W. Packer Ave.
Bethlehem, PA 18015

Please be sure to include your:
• Name
• Your Guest's Name (if applicable)
• Graduation Year
• Food choice from the following: steak, chicken, fish, vegetarian.

Checks must be received before April 13, 2012.

Go to Top

Spencer Schantz Lecture

Arthur Veinott Arthur F. Veinott Jr. ’56
Professor Emeritus of Operations Research
Stanford University

2012 Distinguished Alum for Excellence in Academia

Public Lecture
3:30 p.m.
Location: Neville Hall Room 001
Title: Optimal and Near Optimal Supply Policy for Deterministic Multiperiod Supply Networks

To view the abstract, please click here.


Arthur "Pete" Veinott took a B.S. in Industrial Engineering and a B.A. in Arts and Science from Lehigh University in 1956 and an Eng.Sc.D. in Industrial Engineering (specializing in operations research) from Columbia University in 1960 under Cyrus Derman. He served in the USAF as a 1st Lieutenant and Operations Analyst during 1960-62. He joined Stanford University in Industrial Engineering in 1962. He became a founding member of the Operations Research Department in 1967 and served as Chair from 1975-1985. He was on leave at IBM Research-Yorktown Heights (1968-1969), Yale University (1972-73), and IBM Research-Almaden (1989-90). Stanford merged Operations Research and Engineering-Economic Systems in 1996 and then with Industrial Engineering and Engineering Management in 2000 to form Management Science and Engineering. He became Professor Emeritus on June 1, 2009.

Pete was elected to the National Academy of Engineering (1986) and awarded the John von Neumann Theory Prize by INFORMS (2007). He was selected as a Guggenheim Fellow (1978-79), an Inaugural Fellow of INFORMS (2002), and a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (1970). He was also elected to Phi Beta Kappa and Tau Beta Pi at Lehigh.

Pete has served as Founding Editor of Mathematics of Operations Research (1974-1980), Vice President-Publications of the Institute of Management Sciences (1973-76) and Council Member of both the Institute of Management Sciences (1971-73) and the Operations Research Society of America (1983-86). He is a member of INFORMS. His research interests span several areas of operations research and management science including optimization, stochastic systems and competitive analysis. He has been most active in dynamic programming, lattice programming, supply-chain optimization and network optimization. Six of his 27 Ph.D. students have earned major INFORMS honors, viz., 5 INFORMS Fellows, 3 Lanchester Prizes and 2 Edelman Prizes.

Go to Top

2012 Distinguished Alum for Excellence in Industry

Timothy J. Wilmott ’80, ’81G

Tim Wilmott

Timothy Wilmott is President and Chief Operating Officer (COO) of Penn National Gaming, Inc., responsible for oversight and management of the firm’s North American operations. After earning Lehigh Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in ISE, Tim began his career at IBM as an industrial engineer. He left IBM in 1985 to pursue his MBA at Wharton Business School, which he earned in1987. His career in gaming began shortly thereafter at Harrah’s, Inc. He advanced through increasing levels of responsibility, and by 2003 was the firm’s COO. In 2008, he took the COO role at Penn National, and was named this year as a director of the American Gaming Association. Recently, Tim has supported ISE in several ways, including renovation in Mohler Lab and the Timothy J. Wilmott ’80 Endowed Faculty Chair in Industrial Engineering.

Go to Top

Who's Going?

Updated April 13, 2012.

Alex Anapol ’14
Jeremy Benton
Megan Bigley ’12
Tom Cassidy ’87
Elcin Cetinkaya
Fang Chen
Feng Dai
Xin Dai
Kyra Dragone ’12
Lorand Dragu ’12
Yusuf Erkli ’12
Seth Fortney ’13
Guy Gamble ’12
Bob Garthwait ’14
Julio Goez
Lin He
Anthony Hillman ’01
Daria Holm ’13
Choat Inthawongse ’14G
Hui Jia ’13G
Keith Krenz ’79
Gena Levengood ’13
Barry Levine ’81
Wei Li
Eric Mausler ’13
Scott McKay ’78
Sunny Misser ’88G
Stepahnie Park ’12
Alex Phipps ’13
Xiaocun Que ’14G
Matt Raborn ’13
Rob Rappa ’11, ’12G
Brittany Rasmussen ’14
Maureen Rinkunas ’02
Mike Rinkunas ’02
Jake Schwartz ’13
Steve Senkowski ’73
Alana Shuster ’13
Ben Singer ’11
Tanya Slabbert ’13
Bryan Swintek ’12
Dan Thareja ’13
Terry Theman
Guliz Uncu ’12
Aditi Varma ’13
Gary Whitehouse ’60, ’62G
Hao Wang ’15
Jiadong Wang
Runtong Wang ’11
Gillian Watson ’13
Henry Weinberger ’12
Xiong Xiong ’14G

Please note: Some alums did not want to be listed on the web site.

Faculty who are planning on attending as of 4/2/12:

Dr. Frank E. Curtis
Dr. Mikell Groover
Prof. Hisham Nabaa
Dr. Nick Odrey
Dr. Eugene Perevalov
Dr. Ted Ralphs
Dr. Bob Storer
Dr. Tamas Terlaky
Dr. Aurelie Thiele
Dr. George Wilson
Dr. Luis Zuluaga

Special Accommodations

If you will need special accommodations during your travel and/or stay in the Lehigh Valley, please call Communications Specialist, Amanda Fabrizio at 610-758-2986 or email amanda-dot-fabrizio-at-lehigh-dot-edu.

Go to Top


Special Hotel rates for the ISE alumni will be available at:

  • Comfort Suites, 120 W. Third Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015 Phone: 610-882-9700
  • Hotel Bethlehem, 437 Main Street, Bethlehem, PA 18018 Phone: 1-800-607-2384
  • Mention Lehigh to receive a discounted rate at both hotels.

Go to Top

Driving Directions & Maps

For directions on how to get to Lehigh University, please click here.

Click the link for the map of Asa Packer Campus.

Click the link for the map of Mountain Top Campus.

Go to Top